A Funny Thing Happened …

… on the way to the bedroom. Oo-er Missus, don’t!

I was happily minding my own business when one of the boys said he had a tv series I might like. Hmmm, I thought, we’ve been here before. With the best will in the world some of the new television programmes, particularly on Sky One, are, not to put too fine a point on it, absolute rubbish: terrible dialogue, gratuitous swearing, violence and sex with a paper-thin plot thrown in for good measure. However, it was just before Newsnight was due to begin so I thought I’d dip in, to show willing. After all, if you keep looking a gift-horse in the mouth, one of these days he’ll stop knocking on your door.

So, an hour or so later and having missed Newsnight completely I settled down to sleep. Then the voices began: What happens next? What happens next? Oh, shut up, count sheep, go to sleep. Noooo – what happens next? Okay, I’ll just have a little peek to see how the next episode begins… …

Ten hour-long episodes with intermissions for chocolate biscuits and cups of tea is no mean feat. As I prowled silently around the kitchen, willing the kettle into silence, I felt like a naughty 4th-former at Malory Towers who was having a midnight feast from the forbidden tuck hamper.

And that’s the tale of how I came to have a missing day yesterday.

I managed to keep up with tanking markets, conflict between Turkey-Iraq, the muted greeting of the Merkel-Sarkozy rescue plan, the Spanish recall of Congress, the arguments about sentencing looters, Delors worrying about his precious EU and race riots in Philadelphia & Wisconsin, to name a few. Blogging, though, was beyond me.

Here are some one-liners you might find interesting.  I’m going to have another cup of coffee while I look around the blogs to see what I’ve missed:

Foreign IT workers in the UK avoid paying taxes, courtesy of the Govt
Luxembourg minister tells France to fix its public deficit
EU aid for sacked Portuguese workers

8 responses to “A Funny Thing Happened …

  1. Let me guess – welcome to the wonderful world of GRRM?

  2. Don't keep us in suspenders then! I'm terrible for marathon series watching. Just finished “The Sopranos”. Very addictive watching.

  3. @ Davieboy – wrong 😉
    @ Sue – I'm tempted.

  4. Ha! Well may I humbly recommed “Game of Thrones” to you. Ask your son to download it….

  5. You caught me out, Davieboy – Game of Thrones it was 🙂 and I'm about to watch it again. What is GRRM – does it match up?

  6. George RR Martin is the author. Game of Thrones is based on book 1 of his fantasy series “A Song of Ice and Fire” which is planned to be 7 books. The first 3 came out reasonably close to each other, then there was a 5 year gap until book 4 and a 5th book “A Dance with Dragons” has just been released after a similar 5 year gap, with rabid fans chomping at the bit… He's now on top of all the best-seller lists after a legion of new fans watched the TV series. I was one of those waiting years for the new books…
    I can report that these books are easily my favorite novels; GRRM inspires almost obsessive devotion. It is planed that HBO will film all the books, a series for each; whether that comes to pass is of course up for question.
    I can report that the HBO series was as good as we could fans could possibly have hoped for; they had to cut a lot out of the huge novel (GRRM is fond of introducing 100s of characters). Having said that they actually introduced a couple of scenes.
    If you enjoyed the series why not check out the books? I would suggest starting with Book 1 even though you'll know a lot of what happens. The 3rd book, “A Storm of Swords”, is just incredible but they are all magnificent in my opinion!

  7. Thanks, Davie. You're a mind-reader – I've just bought GoT, Clash of Kings, Steel & Snow, Blood & Gold and will be settling down to read any minute now – blogging could be very light!

    I was surprised at how much I enjoyed the series; it's quite rare to get something that good on tv these days.

  8. “Steel & Snow, Blood & Gold ” – these are the 3rd book “A Storm of Swords” split into 2 paperbacks as the novel was so long.
    I envy you – it's like suddenly discovering The Beatles' music or “The Godfather” movies. But of course you need to read the series 3 or 4 times to REALLY get it!