Sunday Reflection

Slight change of tone this Sunday, bearing in mind the day’s events ten years ago:

Michael George, bass-baritone

6 responses to “Sunday Reflection

  1. The music, the words and the images combine so beautifully in this and are a fitting tribute to those who died on this day ten years ago.

    It has been a bit of a struggle to get anything but Barber out of my head today and this has been a great opportunity of doing just that.

    Thank you, CE, and have a good week-end.

  2. Thanks, Opsimath. I could have done without the scrawling subtitles but I preferred this delivery to that of Bryn Terfel, who was a bit too heavy in comparison. I hope your weekend is going well too – it's a beautifully sunny day here.

  3. Superb but with such pathos, GV. Surely there really is a heaven?

  4. We'll never know, OR. The composer, Finzi, studied under Vaughan-Williams and you can hear the influence in this piece. I adore it.

  5. Thank you for posting this on our blog. It is breathtaking.

  6. No problem, Nickie. I was in two minds whether to do it or not given the sensitivities of the day but I decided on balance that you'd like it. Thanks for the thanks 🙂